Aggies Win LSA Title

Austin, TX — The Aggies defeated the Oklahoma Sooners on Saturday, 17-11, to secure their first LSA title in ten years. The Aggies entered the weekend as the overall favorites but needed two wins to secure their ticket to Salt Lake for the 2018 MCLA National Tournament.


On Saturday the Aggies took on the SMU Mustangs in a semi final game that ended 10-9 in OT.

The Aggies jumped out to an early 4-0 lead in the first quarter thanks to the transition game. The Mustangs caught their breath coming out of the break and the two teams traded goals in the the second and third quarters.

The fourth quarter started 9-5 in Texas A&M’s favor but they struggled to maintain possession. The Mustangs capitalized by reeling off four unanswered goals and forcing OT.

In OT the Mustangs secured the first possession but the Aggie defense stood strong and David Kleymeyer forced the turnover to give the offense a chance. A penalty in transition gave the Aggies a man up opportunity on their first possession of OT and they capitalized. Auggie Buerkle took the pass from X and stung the top left corner with a bouncer to secure the win.


Oklahoma defeated t.u. in OT on Saturday night under the lights to setup the matchup with the Ags on Sunday afternoon.

The two teams traded goals the first three quarters in what turned out to be a game of runs. Marco Robertson stood tall in cage with multiple big time save but the Sooner ride was suffocating and generated multiple second chances.

The Ags entered the fourth quarter with a 1 goal advantage but a 5-0 fourth quarter run staggered the Sooners and secured Texas A&M their first LSA Championship since 2008.

The Aggie offense fired on all cylinders for four straight quarters led by the attack duo AJ Hepting, LSA MVP, and Auggie Buerkle who yielded 5 goals and 1 assist and 3 goals and 1 assist respectively. Quintin Davis dominated the face-off X winning 13 out of 17 with a 76% win rate.